Vancouver International Maritime Centre Team Members

Graham Clarke
Graham ClarkeChairman and CEO
Mr. Clarke is the Chairman and CEO of the Vancouver International Maritime Centre. He is the President and sole shareholder of the Clarke Group of Companies of Vancouver, a province wide affiliation of companies involved in transportation, hospitality and leisure.

Also, Mr. Clarke is Chairman of the Board of Vantage Airport Services Inc., a Governor of the Vancouver Board of Trade and Honorary Consul General Emeritus of the Republic of Austria for the Province of British Columbia and the Yukon.

In the past, Mr. Clarke has served as Chairman of the Board of Powertech Laboratories Inc., a subsidiary of B. C. Hydro, served as a director of the B. C. Pavilion Corporation and Chairman of Catamaran Ferries International.

Mr. Clarke served as Chairman of the Vancouver Board of Trade in 1986, where throughout his long association, he served on, or chaired, numerous task forces on key public issues. Mr. Clarke also served as Chairman of the Board for Tourism Vancouver in 1987 and as Governing Trustee of the B. C. International Commercial Arbitration Centre.

Mr. Clarke has served in numerous volunteer positions in the past including National Vice Chairman of the Canadian Forces Liaison Council and others too numerous to list.

Mr. Clarke was the member of the Executive of the Asia Pacific Initiative responsible for creating the Vancouver International Banking Centre (now Advantage B. C.), the devolution of the Vancouver International Airport to a local Authority (where he was the longest serving director and chairman) and the creation of the Vancouver International Maritime Centre, where he was founding and now current Chairman and CEO.

Mr. Clarke has been decorated with the Canada 125 Medal, the Queen Elizabeth Golden Jubilee Medal, the Order of St. John, the Grand Order or Merit of the Republic of Austria and Vancouver Junior Board of Trade Community Service Person of the year.

Kaity Arsoniadis-Stein
Kaity Arsoniadis-SteinExecutive Director
Kaity Arsoniadis-Stein is the Executive Director of the newly re-established Vancouver International Maritime Centre. A maritime lawyer by profession with a Masters in Maritime Law with merit from Kings College London, Kaity has over 15 years of experience in the global shipping industry having started her career with the Vancouver law firm Bull Houser & Tupper. Kaity has worked for various international firms such as Gard (UK) Ltd., the National Oil Refineries of Greece and international shipping companies such as Teekay Shipping Ltd. and Seaspan Ship Management in Vancouver, Canada.

Kaity’s previous position was with the International Ship Owners Alliance of Canada (ISAC) as the President and Secretary-General. During her tenure there, she worked in close collaboration with ship-owners and all levels of government promoting the interests of ship-owners based in Canada. She is called upon by government as an industry advisor to Transport Canada and Environment Canada, as well as the House of Commons and the Senate of Canada. She was also appointed by the Premier of B.C. as the transportation lead for the British Columbia Jobs and Investment Board. Kaity’s global expertise in shipping has enabled her to participate in policymaking and business development through various high-level consultations within government forums and roundtables.

A prominent member of the shipping community, Kaity is a member of the Canadian Maritime Law Association and has been past President of the Vancouver Maritime Arbitrators Association, Trustee of the Insurance Dispute Resolution Services of BC and Trustee of the Vancouver Maritime Museum. In 2005, Kaity was appointed by the Government of Canada as a member of the Pacific Pilotage Authority. Kaity has been awarded Honourary Membership of the Company of Master Mariners of Canada and in 2012 she was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal by the Governor General of Canada.